Funding available for NPQs in Category 5 & 6 areas

The Department for Education (DfE) has confirmed that the Worcestershire Global Leadership Academy will receive scholarship funding for teachers and leaders working in schools in Category 5 or 6 Areas, to participate in the National Professional Qualifications (NPQ), namely:

National Professional Qualification for Middle Leaders (NPQML)

National Professional Qualification for Senior Leaders (NPQSL)

National Professional Qualification for Headteachers (NPQH)

National Professional Qualification for Executive Leaders (NPQEL)


Funding will cover the full participant costs of the course and paid directly to the NPQ provider (not the school)

If you are a teacher or leader working in a category 5 or 6 area, you can benefit from the funding whilst it is available.
Contact us to register your place on one of our forthcoming NPQ programmes.

We offer NPQ programmes across the country and can discuss the option of your school becoming a hub for local delivery in your area.


NPQ Funding Eligibility Criteria:

Participants must be working in a school in an Opportunity Area (OA) or a Category 5 or 6 areas and not have studied for an NPQ before.


What is category 5 and 6?

In March 2016 the Department for Education analysed each Local Authority District to identify ‘Achieving Excellence Areas’. Educational standards indicators and capacity to improve indicators were used to provide an overall category score for each district (category 1 to 6).

Category 5 and 6 are areas where pupils make the least progress, have poor access to a good schools and where the proportion of local leadership support is low.

Please refer to the DFE website for further details of the category 5 and 6 areas:  

Scroll to top